Listen Now
Pledge Now


Grand Portage Tribal Council election results

The General Election for the Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Tribal Council was held today, June 12, and results are as follows:

For the Committee Person I seat, William “Bill” Myers won the seat, defeating incumbent Rob Hull with 53.82 percent of the vote over Hull’s 46.18 percent.

Incumbent John Morrin held on to his Committee Person II seat, earning 66.89 percent of the vote, defeating Mike Keyport with 33.11 percent of the vote.

Earning the most votes for secretary/treasurer of the Tribal Council was April McCormick, who received 59.93 percent of the vote. She defeated Bobby Deschampe who received 40.07.

The Grand Portage Tribal Council consists of a chairman, vice chairman, secretary/treasurer, and two committee members. All positions are four-year terms.

The Tribal Council is the governing body of Grand Portage. The enrolled members of the band elect the tribal council officers. The council oversees health care, social services, education, jobs, housing, public safety, and more.

The new council members will take office on July 9.