Listen Now
Pledge Now


Filing period for county board, other offices opens May 22

Cook County, Minnesota
Cook County, Minnesota

November is bound to be an interesting month here in Cook County. The month will get off to a roaring start with Election Day on Nov. 6.  For local county elections, the filing period for these offices begins Tuesday, May 22 and ends Tuesday, June 5.

In Cook County the following offices will be on the ballot:

--County Commissioner, District 1  (Currently Robert Deschampe)

--County Commissioner, District 3  (Currently Jan Sivertson)

--County Commissioner, District 5 (Currently Ginny Storlie)

--County Attorney  (Currently Molly Hicken)

--County Auditor-Treasurer (Currently Braidy Powers)

--County Recorder (Currently Dusty Nelms)

--County Sheriff  (Currently Pat Eliasen)

These county offices have a $50 filing fee to get your name on the ballot.

WTIP’s Joe Friedrichs spoke with Cook County Auditor-Treasurer Braidy Powers to get more details on the upcoming filing process and 2018 election.