Listen Now
Pledge Now


Mushers wrap up 2010 Beargrease

Nathan Schroeder of Chisholm was the first to cross the finish line of the 27th John Beargrease Sled Dog Marathon just after 10 a.m. on Wednesday. Schroeder had never won the Beargrease, finishing fifth in 2008 and withdrawing last year. Schroeder was on the trail just over 40 hours.

Jason Barron of Lincoln Montana finished in second place. Denis Tremblay of Quebec held the number three spot and Rick Larson of Sand Coulee Montana finished fourth.

Peter McClelland of Ely rounded out the top five followed by Blake Freking of Finland, Matt Carstens of Whitefield New Hampshire, Rita Wehsler of Tofte, Jamie Nelson of Togo and Mark Black of Grand Marais.

Colleen Wallin of Two harbors finished in 11th place and Frank Moe of Hovland placed 13th. Grand Marais mushers Odin Jorgenson and Matt Groth scratched on Wednesday.

The next local sled dog race will be in Ely in early March.