Listen Now
Pledge Now


Live Music Archive

Idyllic atmosphere during WTIP's 6th annual Radio Waves Music Festival, September 6-8, 2013 (Carah Thomas)

WTIP regularly hosts live in-studio music. We feature local musicians, groups and bands as well as musicians and bands visiting the area.

What's On:
Space Monkey Mafia. Photo by Brian Neil.

Space Monkey Mafia AND Dash rock The Roadhouse

A Roadhouse record seven musicians join Brian and Dave in the studio.  Both Space Monkey Mafia and Bozeman, Montana based duo Dash rocked out in the studio together.

Space Monkey Mafia is Joe Barron, Riley Jacobson, Blake Foster, Tim Kingstrom, and Dante Leyva.  You can learn more about them on their Facebook page.

Dash is a duo of Kayti Korte and Ben Morris; you can also learn more about them of their Facebook page.


Rootz Within.  Photo by Brian Neil.

Rootz Within jams on The Roadhouse

Rootz Within is an "Island jam reggae fusion" band from Detroit Lakes.  Two of the group's members, Jonah Bowe and Ryan Engberg joined Brian and Dave on The Roadhouse to play a few songs, and talk about the group origins.

The full group is:
Jonah Bowe- vocals, guitar
Tyler Renney- vocals, guitar
Ryan Engberg- bass
Scott Thompson- drums

You can learn more about Rootz Within on their Facebook page.


Caitlin Nicol-Thomas in Studio A. Photo by Julie Carlson.

Caitlin Nicol-Thomas joins The Roadhouse

Nashville singer-songwriter-fiddler-actress Caitlin Nicol-Thomas joined Dave and Julie on The Roadhouse to perform some of her music in the studio, as well as chat about her recent her wedding, what's she up to next, and much more.


The Federales on the Scenic Route in Sep. 2018. WTIP file photo.

The Federales bring country music to The Roadhouse

The Federales are a country-rock band from Minneapolis.  While in Grand Marais for a weekend full of shows at the Gunflint Tavern, the group joined Annie and Julie to make their Roadhouse debut. 

The Federales are:
Ben Miller – guitar, vocals
James Gould- electric guitar
Mark Larson – drums
Chris Holm- bass
Jay Scabich – fiddle

You can learn more about The Federales here.


The Dang Ol' Tri'ole. Photo by Brian Neil.

The Dang Ol' Tri'ole perform on The Roadhouse

The Dang Ol’ Tri’ole is a 5 person bohemian folk group from the Twin Cities.  They joined Dave and Brian on The Roadhouse to perform some of their original songs for us.

The Dang Ol' Tri'ole is Rob Higgins: Bass/Vocals, Richard Yaegar: Trumpet/Vocals, Michael Higgins: Guitar/Vocals, Wesley Full: Cajon/Congas, and Dan Yaeger: Aux Percussion.

You can learn more about the group on their Facebook page.


Thunderheads in Studio A. Photo by Brian Neil.

Thunderheads join The Roadhouse

The Thunderheads returned to The Roadhouse to play some original and some cover tunes.  They also chatted with Dave and Brian about the latest endeavors the band has taken on.  The Thunderheads are Steve Blexrud; lead guitar and vox, Craig Paquette; rhythm & slide guitar, vox. Don Blue; bass guitar, and Bill Boyce; drums. 

You can learn more about Thunderheads on their Facebook page.


Freelance Valet Poster.  Photo via Freelance Valet Facebook page.

Freelance Valet perform on The Roadhouse

Freelance Valet is a new group made up of Terry V from the Big Wu and Mitch Johnson from Kind Country.  They joined Dave and Julie on The Roadhouse to chat about how the two came together and play a few tunes.

You can learn more about Freelance Valet on their Facebook page.


Jim McGowan in Studio A.  Photo by Brian Neil.

Jim McGowan celebrates Fourth of July weekend on The Roadhouse

Jim McGowan joins Dave and Brian on The Roadhouse to play a few songs and chat about Fourth of July traditions.


Colleen Myhre in Studio A.  Photo by Brian Neil.

Colleen Myhre plays live on The Roadhouse

Colleen Myhre returns for a live music session on The Roadhouse.  She also chats with Dave about her upcoming summer plans.


Paper Parlor in Studio A. Photo by Brian Neil.

Paper Parlor kicks off their Summer Tour on The Roadhouse

Paper Parlor is a five-piece group that blends many genres into upbeat tunes. The band is Zach Shears (auxiliary percussion), Chad Hoffland (lead percussion), Wilson Johnson (bass), Kirdan Wenger (vocals/guitar), and  Allison Payonk (saxophone).  They stopped by The Roadhouse just before a gig at the Wunderbar to play some tunes for us.

You can learn more about Paper Parlor on their Facebook page here.