Listen Now
Pledge Now


Filing deadline for candidates facing primary approaches

Primary election candidates filing
Primary election candidates filing

Because the Minnesota primary election date has been moved to the second Tuesday in August – the 10th – filing dates have also been moved up. The 2010 filing period begins Tuesday, May 18 and extends to Tuesday, June 1.
The primary dates were changed nationally to give more time for military and overseas absentee ballots to be returned, and individual states needed to conform. School district ISD166 and the City of Grand Marais do not participate in primaries – filing dates for those offices is August 3 to 17.
Seven county offices are up for election, including incumbent commissioners Janice Hall, Bob Fenwick and Bruce Martinson, in districts 1, 3 and 5 respectively. Also up for election are the County Attorney position currently held by Tim Scannell, Auditor-Treasurer position currently held by Braidy Powers, Recorder, held by Dusty Nelms and Cook County Sheriff, currently, Mark Falk. The filing fee for county office is $50.
Three Soil and Water District Supervisor seats are up: District 2, held by incumbent James Hall, District 4, David Berglund and District 5, currently Roget Haertel. Filing fee is $20.
Three positions on the Cook County Hospital and Care Center board are also up for election. Incumbents are Sharon Bloomquist in District 1, Howard Abrahamson, District 3 and Tom Spence Sr., in District 5. The filing fee is $2.
Filing is done at the at the Auditor-Treasurer’s office, 8am to 5pm weekdays.